Skip to content
Pickoryx
Menu / Search

Roomba Plus 415 Combo (G285020) vs Roomba Plus 575 Combo (R285020)

Is the Plus 575's camera-assisted obstacle identification worth the upgrade when the Plus 415 already offers an AutoWash dock, and what routine care will either choice leave you?

Products compared

ASIN B0H34T5PKZ

Roomba Plus 415 Combo (G285020)

You want the AutoWash dock's documented auto-empty, pad wash/dry, and water-refill workflow without needing the Plus 575's camera-assisted object-identification feature.

Last observed offer

$379.00

List Price: $599.99

Check price on AmazonPaid link
  • Confirm offer eligibility on Amazon

Price checked

Observed condition: new. Coupon and subscription requirements unverified.

ASIN B0H34TVP67

Roomba Plus 575 Combo (R285020)

Your home has clutter where identifying objects such as cords, shoes, or toys is a priority and you value the Plus 575's PrecisionVision AI feature fit.

Last observed offer

$499.99

List Price: $799.99

Check price on AmazonPaid link
  • Confirm offer eligibility on Amazon

Price checked

Observed condition: new. Coupon and subscription requirements unverified.

Prices are per listed package. Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.

Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-09-14 · Updated 2026-09-22 · Source checked 2026-09-21 08:38 UTC

The main trade-off

The Plus 575 adds a documented front-facing camera with PrecisionVision AI. Its page also publishes 167°F pad washing, up to 40 days of mopping, and a 30 mm articulating arm, but the Plus 415 page does not state corresponding wash-temperature, mopping-interval, or arm-reach figures, so those model-specific values do not prove a comparative advantage. Both models document edge-cleaning features. Independent single-product reviews add useful caveats: one 415 test reported poor small-object avoidance and hair wrapped around the roller, while one three-month 575 test reported good obstacle handling but repeated Wi-Fi disconnects, hair wrap, and two charges for a 2,000-square-foot home. Neither review states the US SKU, region, or firmware, so these are directional test-condition observations rather than fleet-wide reliability evidence. iRobot's exact product and support pages also conflict on the 575's body dimensions, so clearance should be measured rather than used as a model winner.

Quick verdict

The Plus 415 is the simpler fit if LiDAR mapping and its automated AutoWash dock are enough. The Plus 575 is the feature-fit step-up for shoppers who specifically want PrecisionVision AI obstacle identification. Its page publishes 167°F pad washing, up to 40 days of mopping, and a 30 mm articulating arm, but the 415 page does not publish corresponding values, so those figures are not proven cross-model advantages. Independent reviews found useful trade-offs under their own test conditions: the 415 review reported poor small-object avoidance and roller hair wrap, while the 575 review reported good obstacle handling but repeated Wi-Fi disconnects, long-hair wrap, and a two-charge finish in a 2,000-square-foot test home. Neither review states the US SKU, region, or firmware, so neither establishes a universal reliability or cleaning winner.

Choose Roomba Plus 415 Combo (G285020) if

  • You want the AutoWash dock's documented auto-empty, pad wash/dry, and water-refill workflow without needing the Plus 575's camera-assisted object-identification feature.

Choose Roomba Plus 575 Combo (R285020) if

  • Your home has clutter where identifying objects such as cords, shoes, or toys is a priority and you value the Plus 575's PrecisionVision AI feature fit.
When to skip: Your measured furniture clearance or intended cleaning route cannot accommodate either robot; the official 575 dimension sources also conflict.
When the recommendation changes
  • An independent, directly comparable test shows a material cleaning or obstacle-avoidance difference beyond the official feature descriptions.
  • The current price gap or package contents change at review time.
  • A later exact-model owner or support record establishes a material maintenance or reliability difference.

The differences that matter

Decision pointRoomba Plus 415 Combo (G285020)Roomba Plus 575 Combo (R285020)
Obstacle AvoidanceClearView LiDAR mapping and obstacle detection are documented; the official support matrix identifies Plus 415 as LiDAR without listing it among camera-equipped models.[1, 3]ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI is documented; iRobot support lists Plus 575 as a camera-equipped model that can identify and avoid common floor obstacles.[2, 3, 4]

What this changes: The Plus 575 has a feature-fit advantage for shoppers who want camera-assisted identification of listed obstacles, but the official sources do not establish a measured head-to-head avoidance advantage.[1, 2, 3, 4]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Mopping SystemThe Plus 415 page documents an extending Edge-Sweeping brush and DualClean Mop Pads with PerfectEdge for 18% more coverage versus an unextended pad.[1]The Plus 575 page documents spinning mop pads on an articulating arm extending 30 mm and claims 18% more edge coverage versus an unextended DualClean Mop Pad.[2]

What this changes: Both models document extending edge-cleaning features. The Plus 575 publishes a 30 mm articulating-arm figure, but the shared 18% claims use each page's own unextended-pad baseline and do not establish that the 575 reaches farther or cleans edges better than the 415.[1, 2]

The available evidence does not establish a winner

Dock AutomationAutoWash Dock auto-empties debris, washes and heat-dries mop pads, and refills water; the page states 113°F drying and up to three months of hands-free debris emptying, but does not state a wash temperature or mopping interval.[1]AutoWash Dock auto-empties debris, washes pads at a published 167°F, dries them at 113°F, and refills the robot's water; the page describes up to three months of debris emptying and up to 40 days of mopping.[2]

What this changes: Both models remove recurring emptying and pad-washing steps. The Plus 575 page publishes a 167°F wash and up to 40 days of mopping, but the Plus 415 page does not state a corresponding wash temperature or mopping interval, so these figures do not establish a comparative advantage or justify a premium on their own. Neither dock is maintenance-free, because iRobot still documents owner cleaning tasks.[1, 2, 6]

The available evidence does not establish a winner

Physical ClearanceiRobot's support matrix lists the Plus 415 Series at 29.8 × 30.3 × 8.35 cm (D × W × H).[3]iRobot's support matrix lists the Plus 575 Series at 29.8 × 30.3 × 8.3 cm (D × W × H), while the exact R285020 product page lists different dimensions.[3, 2]

What this changes: The support matrix lists near-identical body dimensions for these series, but the exact 575 product page conflicts with that matrix; verify the actual path and dock placement because the sources do not support a space winner.[3, 2]

The available evidence does not establish a winner

Cleaning SystemThe Plus 415 page publishes intense suction, DualClean Mop Pads, SmartScrub, carpet detection, and 10 mm mop lift; its suction claim is benchmarked against a different Roomba model.[1]The Plus 575 page publishes 3.5x stronger suction versus a different Roomba baseline, SmartScrub, DualSpin Mop Pads, carpet detection, and 10 mm mop lift.[2]

What this changes: Both pages describe vacuum-and-mop capability, carpet protection, and scrubbing features, but their relative suction claims use different comparison baselines; no bilateral measured result supports a cleaning-performance winner.[1, 2]

The available evidence does not establish a winner

MaintenanceiRobot's Plus 415 support instructions cover removing debris from the brush, washing the bin without the filter, and routine water-tank, contact, brush, and filter care; the brush article recommends replacement every 6–12 months.[5, 6, 1]The Plus 575 product page still calls for owner care of the robot and dock, including water tanks, contacts, brushes, filters, and mop pads; it lists component replacement every 3–6 months, but this is not a controlled burden comparison.[2]

What this changes: The docks automate recurring steps but do not eliminate owner care; the available official instructions do not establish which model has lower long-term maintenance burden.[5, 6, 1, 2]

The available evidence does not establish a winner

Field Usage CaveatsAn independent single-home review that identifies the Plus 415 reported strong mopping and edge cleaning, but poor small-object avoidance with toys and cables and hair wrapped around the main roller during testing. Its US SKU, region, and firmware are not stated.[8]An independent review that identifies the Plus 575 and labels its test score as three-month real-world testing reported good obstacle handling and mopping, but repeated Wi-Fi disconnects requiring reboots, long-hair wrap, and two charges to finish a 2,000-square-foot home. Its US SKU, region, and firmware are not stated.[9]

What this changes: These are useful fit cautions for clutter, hair, connectivity, and home size, but they come from separate reviews under separate conditions and do not establish a bilateral performance or reliability winner.[8, 9]

The available evidence does not establish a winner

Best for your routine

Feature fit for homes with floor clutter

Best fit: Roomba Plus 575 Combo (R285020)

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

Choose the Plus 575 if its documented front-facing camera and PrecisionVision AI object-identification feature matches your need to identify listed obstacles; this is not a measured avoidance result.

Feature fit for shoppers who do not need camera-assisted identification

Best fit: Roomba Plus 415 Combo (G285020)

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

Choose the Plus 415 if ClearView LiDAR mapping, general obstacle detection, and the AutoWash workflow cover the intended routine and the Plus 575 additions are not priorities.

Documented edge and corner mopping

No clear winner

Both product pages document extending edge-cleaning features. The Plus 575 publishes a 30 mm articulating-arm figure, but no source establishes a comparative reach or real-world edge-cleaning advantage, so do not treat this as a 575-only upgrade.

What the evidence cannot decide

  • Fit for low-clearance furniture: Do not assign a space winner: iRobot's support matrix lists near-identical dimensions for the 415 and 575 series, while the exact 575 product page lists different dimensions. Measure the real clearance and route before buying either model.
  • Real-world upkeep and connectivity fit: The independent tests point to different risks rather than a clear winner: the 415 review reported floor-clutter and roller-hair problems, while the 575 review reported Wi-Fi reboots, long-hair wrap, and extra charging in a large test home. Because neither review states the US SKU, region, or firmware, match these cautions to your own home and treat them as directional reports.

Value and trade-offs

One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.

The higher-priced Plus 575 should be considered only for a buyer's specific need for camera-assisted obstacle identification. Its page-published 167°F wash and up-to-40-day mopping figures have no corresponding 415 values on the exact 415 page, so they are not comparative proof or a premium justification by themselves; both models document extending edge-cleaning features.

The supplied observations cover only a short window and are not enough for a definite Buy Now or Wait recommendation; recheck controlled current prices at review time.

Is the upgrade worth it?

Worth considering if

  • Homes where identifying listed floor obstacles is more useful than LiDAR-only navigation.
  • Buyers whose routine specifically benefits from the Plus 575's camera-assisted obstacle identification and who accept the price premium.

Skip the upgrade if

  • The Plus 415's LiDAR mapping and AutoWash workflow already fit your home.
  • The robot or dock does not fit your measured clearance or intended cleaning path; iRobot's exact 575 product and support pages conflict on body dimensions.

Limitations

  • The official suction and cleaning claims use different comparison baselines, so they cannot establish a direct performance winner.
  • Independent reviews were found for each model, but they were separate single-product tests under different conditions and do not state the US SKU, region, or firmware; their 415 clutter and brush-tangle observations and 575 Wi-Fi, battery, and brush-tangle observations are directional fit cautions, not fleet-wide failure rates or a bilateral winner.
  • The supplied price history is short and cannot support a 30-, 90-, or 365-day low, typical-price claim, or a definite Buy Now/Wait call.
  • Exact-model owner searches did not yield a directly applicable discussion for this US pair, so no owner claims or community links are included.
  • Both AutoWash docks still require owner care; automated washing and drying should not be described as maintenance-free.
  • The Plus 575 page specifies a 167°F pad wash and up to 40 days of mopping, but the Plus 415 page specifies neither a wash temperature nor a mopping interval. These model-specific figures cannot be used to claim that the 575 washes hotter, mops longer, or merits a premium over the 415.
  • iRobot's support matrix lists near-identical 415/575 series dimensions, while the exact R285020 product page lists different dimensions; this comparison does not assign a space winner, so measure the actual route and dock placement before buying.

Questions shoppers ask

Does the Roomba Plus 575 have a camera that the Plus 415 does not?

iRobot support lists the Plus 575 among camera-equipped models and describes PrecisionVision obstacle identification. The same support list identifies the Plus 415 as a LiDAR model and does not list it among camera-equipped models. This establishes a feature difference, not a measured avoidance advantage.

Do both models wash and dry their mop pads automatically?

Yes. Both product pages describe AutoWash dock automation for emptying debris and washing/drying mop pads. The Plus 575 page publishes a 167°F wash figure, while the Plus 415 page publishes a 113°F drying figure but no wash-temperature or mopping-interval figure, so the 575 is not proven to wash hotter or mop longer. Both still require routine owner care.

Is the Plus 575 proven to clean better than the Plus 415?

Not from the available evidence. iRobot publishes different suction comparison baselines for the two models, and no independent bilateral test was found, so the result should be treated as a feature-fit upgrade decision rather than a proven cleaning-performance ranking.

Which model is safer for low furniture clearance?

iRobot's support matrix lists the Plus 415 Series at 29.8 × 30.3 × 8.35 cm and the Plus 575 Series at 29.8 × 30.3 × 8.3 cm (D × W × H), but the exact R285020 product page lists different dimensions. Because the official sources conflict, measure your furniture and route rather than assuming either model has a space advantage.

Do independent reviews change which model I should choose?

They add fit cautions rather than a universal winner. An independent 415 review reported strong mopping but poor small-object avoidance and hair wrapped around the roller. A separate review explicitly labels its 575 score as three-month real-world testing and reports good obstacle handling but repeated Wi-Fi disconnects, long-hair wrap, and two charges in a 2,000-square-foot test home. Neither review states the US SKU, region, or firmware, so use those as directional reports for clutter, hair, connectivity, and home-size decisions, not as fleet-wide reliability rates.

Methodology and sources

Compared decision-relevant published configuration facts for exact G285020 and R285020 models, added separately scoped independent test observations for clutter, brush care, connectivity, and home size, disclosed that review SKU, region, and firmware details are unknown, separated feature fit from measured performance, and treated price as dynamic short-history context.

Automated checks were used to detect broken claim-to-source references; model applicability and qualifiers were reviewed before publication.

View 9 sources
  1. 1.Roomba® Plus 415 Combo Robot Vac + AutoWash™ Dock | Slim DesigniRobot · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-09-21 08:38 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Product details, key features, specifications (robot dimensions and item #), What's in the box, FAQs: Exact G285020 product page identifies the Plus 415 Combo and documents DualClean mopping, ClearView LiDAR, AutoWash automation, carpet lift, maintenance, official robot dimensions, and listed package contents.
  2. 2.Roomba® Plus 575 Combo Robot + AutoWash™ Dock | Slim VaciRobot · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-09-21 08:38 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Product details, key features, specifications (robot dimensions and item #), What's in the box, FAQs: Exact R285020 product page identifies the Plus 575 Combo and documents ClearView Pro LiDAR with PrecisionVision AI, articulating mop reach, AutoWash temperatures, mopping duration, official robot dimensions, and package contents.
  3. 3.All Roomba Features and Compatible PartsiRobot Support · Official support · Source checked 2026-09-21 08:38 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Robot Dimensions DxWxH (lines 290-308); Smart Maps/LiDAR Maps; Camera; navigation technology; carpet boost and SmartScrub matrices: Support matrix lists Plus 415 among LiDAR models and Plus 575 among LiDAR + camera models, and lists near-identical series dimensions (415: 29.8 D × 30.3 W × 8.35 H cm; 575: 29.8 D × 30.3 W × 8.3 H cm).
  4. 4.Camera, PrecisionVision™, and Obstacle Image ReviewiRobot Support · Official support · Source checked 2026-09-21 08:38 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Camera section: Support identifies Plus 575 as a front-facing-camera model and describes PrecisionVision obstacle identification; this is feature documentation, not a comparative test.
  5. 5.Roomba® Plus 400 Series, How to Clean or Replace the Main BrushiRobot Support · Official support · Source checked 2026-09-21 08:38 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • 415 Series steps and replacement recommendation: Exact Plus 415 series support instructions cover brush removal, debris cleaning, reinstallation, and a 6–12 month main-brush replacement recommendation.
  6. 6.Roomba® Plus 400 Series, How to Clean or Replace the Bin and FilteriRobot Support · Official support · Source checked 2026-09-21 08:38 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Plus 415 Series + AutoWash Dock steps: Exact Plus 415 support instructions document bin/filter cleaning, filter handling, and non-dishwasher-safe bin care.
  7. 7.Roomba® Combo Cleaning SolutioniRobot Support · Official support · Source checked 2026-09-21 08:38 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Roomba Plus 410 Series and Roomba Plus 575 Series sections: Support lists permitted solution options and cautions for the Plus 410 and Plus 575 series, including just-water guidance and warnings against hot water or vinegar.
  8. 8.The Roomba Plus 415 Combo is a genuinely good robot vacuum cleaner trapped inside a machine that can't see where it's goingIdeal Home · Independent testing · Source checked 2026-09-21 08:38 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • In a nutshell, Performance, and Cleaning and maintenance sections: A single-home reviewer identifies the Roomba Plus 415 Combo and reports strong mopping/edge cleaning, poor small-object avoidance with toys and cables, and hair wrapped around the main roller. The review does not state a US SKU, region, or firmware and does not establish a fleet-wide rate or a bilateral 415-versus-575 result.
  9. 9.iRobot Roomba Plus 575 Combo Review: Vacuum and MopJust A Dad Approved · Independent testing · Source checked 2026-09-21 08:38 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Three-month real-world test; obstacle, maintenance, Wi-Fi, and battery sections: The page labels its score as three-month real-world testing and reports good obstacle handling and mopping, but repeated Wi-Fi disconnects requiring hard reboots, long-hair wrap on the brush, and two charges to finish a 2,000-square-foot home. It does not state a US SKU, region, or firmware; these are test-condition observations, not universal failure rates.