Skip to content
Pickoryx
Menu / Search

Hamilton Beach Smooth Touch 76607J vs Kitchen Mama Orbit One CO5600-R (Red)

Should you keep a corded opener on the counter or choose a USB-C rechargeable unit, and which control sequence better fits your routine?

Products compared

ASIN B000SAS5GI

Hamilton Beach Smooth Touch 76607J

You want a corded countertop opener and have a suitable nearby outlet; its 24-inch cord stores in the unit.

Last observed offer

$44.95

Check price on AmazonPaid link
  • Confirm offer eligibility on Amazon

Size: Stainless Steel Kitchen Scissors

Price checked

Observed condition: new. Coupon and subscription requirements unverified.

ASIN B0CX1HZYD7

Kitchen Mama Orbit One CO5600-R (Red)

You want a rechargeable opener you can put away between uses, and prefer one-press operation with automatic stop; plan to keep it charged.

Last observed offer

$59.99

Check price on AmazonPaid link
  • Confirm offer eligibility on Amazon

Size: Small

Price checked

Observed condition: new. Coupon and subscription requirements unverified.

Prices are per listed package. Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.

Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-10-22 · Source checked 2026-10-22 11:57 UTC

The main trade-off

The Smooth Touch uses a stored 24-inch power cord and a lever held through one rotation; the Orbit One trades an attached cord during use for USB-C charging, storage box, one-press start, and automatic stop.

Quick verdict

The Smooth Touch is a plug-in countertop choice with a lever you hold through one can rotation. The Orbit One is USB-C rechargeable and stops automatically after a one-press start. Choose by where you want to store and power the opener, and whether you prefer to hold the lever or let the cycle stop on its own.

Choose Hamilton Beach Smooth Touch 76607J if

  • You want a corded countertop opener and have a suitable nearby outlet; its 24-inch cord stores in the unit.

Choose Kitchen Mama Orbit One CO5600-R (Red) if

  • You want a rechargeable opener you can put away between uses, and prefer one-press operation with automatic stop; plan to keep it charged.
When the recommendation changes
  • If counter outlet access or storage preference changes, the power-format choice may change; if you strongly prefer not to hold a lever through the cut, the documented automatic-stop workflow points toward the Orbit One.

The differences that matter

Decision pointHamilton Beach Smooth Touch 76607JKitchen Mama Orbit One CO5600-R (Red)
Countertop Outlet And Rechargeable Storage FitThe manual describes a plug-in can opener with a 24-inch cord that stores in the unit; it covers model 76607 and allows letter suffixes.[1]The exact CO5600-R Red page describes USB-C recharging and lists a USB-C cable and storage box in the package.[2]

What this changes: A nearby outlet matters for the Smooth Touch; the Orbit One's rechargeable format supports storage away from the counter between uses, with charging to plan. Its runtime and charge time are not stated on the cited page.[1, 2]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Held Lever And Automatic Stop WorkflowHold the activation lever until one rotation is complete; the manual says the motor will not automatically stop when the can opens.[1]The manufacturer states that a single press starts the opener and it automatically stops when the can is fully cut.[2]

What this changes: The choice is between holding the lever through the documented cycle and pressing once for an automatic stop, rather than a claim that either product cuts faster or better.[1, 2]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Best for your routine

A fixed countertop location near an outlet, with a cord that can be stored in the unit.

Best fit: Hamilton Beach Smooth Touch 76607J

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

The manual documents a plug-in design and a 24-inch cord that stores in the unit.

Cord-free use between charges plus an automatic-stop cycle.

Best fit: Kitchen Mama Orbit One CO5600-R (Red)

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

The manufacturer describes USB-C recharging and one-press operation that stops automatically after the cut.

Value and trade-offs

One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.

A higher current offer is easier to justify if that model's power and control workflow is the one you actually want; do not pay extra for an automatic-stop or storage format you will not use.

There is not enough price history to recommend buying now or waiting. Compare the current exact offer, seller, condition, and included items before purchase.

Limitations

  • No hands-on or same-condition comparison was conducted. These are manufacturer-documented power and control differences, not a ranking for opening speed, cut quality, noise, durability, or safety outcomes.
  • The Orbit One product page does not state battery runtime, charge time, or whether it can be used while charging; check with the manufacturer if any of those conditions are essential.
  • The Hamilton Beach manual covers models 76606 and 76607 and says those models may have letter suffixes. This supports the 76607J model suffix, but the manual does not establish every retail package's included items. Check the exact listing for package contents.

Questions shoppers ask

Does the Smooth Touch stop on its own?

No. Its manual says the motor will not automatically stop when the can opens; hold the activation lever until the can completes one rotation.

Does the Orbit One need to stay plugged in while opening a can?

The manufacturer describes it as USB-C rechargeable and says it starts with one press and stops automatically. It does not state runtime, charge time, or whether it can open cans while charging, so check those details if they matter to you.

Methodology and sources

The comparison follows each product's documented power setup and opening controls. Published specifications do not establish comparative speed, cut quality, noise, or reliability.

AI helped organize source material and draft the comparison; no hands-on testing was conducted.

View 2 sources
  1. 1.Hamilton Beach Can Opener Use & CareHamilton Beach · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-22 11:57 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Model scope at end of English/Spanish manual identifies 76606 and 76607 and allows letter suffixes; English Parts and Features and How to Use, printed pp. 4–5 (PDF pp. 2–3).: The manual covers model 76607 and permitted suffixes. It depicts a plug-in unit with onboard cord storage, specifies a 24-inch cord, directs the user to hold the activation lever until one rotation, and says the motor will not automatically stop when the can opens.
  2. 2.Orbit One Rechargeable Electric Can OpenerKitchen Mama · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-22 11:57 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Product Details and Specification, lines describing one-press automatic stop, USB-C charging, included storage box/cable; SKU CO5600-R, color Red.: The manufacturer page identifies CO5600-R in Red, describes USB-C recharge, one-press operation with automatic stop, and lists the USB-C cable and storage box as package contents. It does not state runtime or charge time.