Skip to content
Pickoryx
Menu / Search

Breville BTA840XL Die-Cast 4-Slice Smart Toaster vs Cuisinart CPT-142BKP1 4-Slice Compact Plastic Toaster

Do you prefer Breville’s motorized carriage and in-cycle Lift & Look workflow, or Cuisinart’s manual lever operation and documented Reheat control—and can either toaster fit your counter rules?

Products compared

ASIN B001415B12

Breville BTA840XL Die-Cast 4-Slice Smart Toaster

You want the carriage to lower at a button press and rise for a mid-cycle check without stopping the cycle.

Last observed offer

$249.95

Check price on AmazonPaid link
  • Confirm offer eligibility on Amazon

Size: 4-Slice

Price checked

Observed condition: new. Coupon and subscription requirements unverified.

ASIN B00D25P82U

Cuisinart CPT-142BKP1 4-Slice Compact Plastic Toaster

You prefer starting each side with a manual lever and want the manufacturer-documented Reheat button.

Last observed offer

$59.95

Check price on AmazonPaid link
  • Confirm offer eligibility on Amazon

Size: 4-Slice

Price checked

Observed condition: new. Coupon and subscription requirements unverified.

Prices are per listed package. Pickoryx may earn a commission from qualifying purchases through the paid Amazon links on this page, at no added cost to you.

Published by Pickoryx · Published 2026-10-21 · Source checked 2026-10-21 08:31 UTC

The main trade-off

Both are four-slot toasters with separately controlled pairs. Breville adds automatic lowering, a motorized progress check and A Bit More; Cuisinart uses manual carriage levers, gives each side its own seven-setting dial and lists a Reheat button. Their manuals also set different cabinet-clearance rules.

Quick verdict

Both models toast four slices and let you set the two pairs separately. The Breville automates lowering and raising, adds an in-cycle Lift & Look check and A Bit More; the Cuisinart uses manual levers, has a seven-setting dial per side and documents a Reheat control. Check the manuals against your cabinet setup before choosing.

Choose Breville BTA840XL Die-Cast 4-Slice Smart Toaster if

  • You want the carriage to lower at a button press and rise for a mid-cycle check without stopping the cycle.
  • You use the A Bit More control to add a little time and want separate settings for the two slot pairs.

Choose Cuisinart CPT-142BKP1 4-Slice Compact Plastic Toaster if

  • You prefer starting each side with a manual lever and want the manufacturer-documented Reheat button.
  • You want a stated 1.5-inch slot width and seven shade settings on each side; check the actual food dimensions rather than assuming this guarantees a fit.
When to skip: You need to toast while the appliance is inside a closed appliance garage; both manufacturers advise against enclosed use.
When the recommendation changes
  • If you need the toaster beneath a wall cabinet, Cuisinart’s manual says not to operate it there; Breville permits operation only with the stated 4-inch side and 8-inch overhead clearances and still advises against enclosed placement.
  • If the maximum thickness or width of a particular bread is decisive, measure it against the actual slots before buying: Cuisinart states 1.5-inch slot width, while Breville describes its slots as extra-wide without giving a matching numeric opening size in the cited U.S. sources.

The differences that matter

Decision pointBreville BTA840XL Die-Cast 4-Slice Smart ToasterCuisinart CPT-142BKP1 4-Slice Compact Plastic Toaster
Bread Controls And Food FitFour slots with two independently controlled pairs. The BTA840XL uses button-operated motorized lowering/raising, Lift & Look to check progress during a cycle, A Bit More to add time, and a browning slider for each pair. Breville describes the slots as extra-wide but does not state a numeric opening width.[1, 2]Four slots with separate left/right control panels and manual carriage levers. The CPT-142BKP1 has a seven-level browning dial per side, Bagel, Defrost and Reheat controls, and a stated 1.5-inch slot width.[3, 4]

What this changes: Choose by the interaction you want, not by an assumed toast-quality winner: Breville automates carriage movement and adds a mid-cycle view and extra-time button; Cuisinart provides manual levers and a Reheat control. Both manuals document independent settings for each pair. Cuisinart publishes a numeric slot width, but Breville does not state a matching measurement, so they do not establish which opening is wider.[1, 2, 3, 4]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Crumb Care And Counter SetupThe manual says to unplug and let the toaster cool, remove and empty the front crumb tray, turn the toaster upside down to shake out remaining crumbs, then wipe with a slightly damp soft cloth and dry. Store upright on a flat surface after cooling. For operation, allow 4 inches at the sides and 8 inches above; Breville advises against enclosed placement.[2]The manual says to cool and unplug the toaster, wipe and dry the exterior, slide out and clean the crumb tray, and use the underside cord-storage cleats. Do not operate beneath a wall cabinet or in an appliance garage.[3, 4]

What this changes: Routine tray cleaning is documented for both, so there is no supported cleaning-ease winner. Counter placement is the useful distinction: the Cuisinart booklet rules out operation below a wall cabinet, while Breville gives specific side and overhead clearances and also rules out enclosed use. Check the actual counter against the exact manual rather than treating the toaster body dimensions as operating clearance.[2, 4]

The better fit depends on your priorities

Best for your routine

People who want the toaster to lower and raise its carriage by button, with a mid-cycle progress check and an extra-time button.

Best fit: Breville BTA840XL Die-Cast 4-Slice Smart Toaster

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

The BTA840XL manual documents motorized raising and lowering, Lift & Look, and A Bit More. This is a control-workflow match, not evidence of faster or better toast.

People who prefer manually lowering the carriage and want a dedicated Reheat button documented on the exact Cuisinart model page.

Best fit: Cuisinart CPT-142BKP1 4-Slice Compact Plastic Toaster

Based on listed features, not comparative testing.

The CPT-142BKP1 page lists Reheat and the linked CPT-142 series booklet explains the manual lever and Reheat operation. The cited Breville sources do not list a Reheat control, which is not proof that the toaster cannot perform a similar task.

Value and trade-offs

One or both observed offers have eligibility conditions, so no unrestricted price difference is shown.

Compare the current offers for these exact models and their conditions. If the Breville costs more, its motorized carriage and in-cycle controls should matter to your routine; if the Cuisinart costs less, decide whether the manual workflow and documented Reheat control still fit. A current price alone does not establish value or the better time to buy.

There is not enough comparable price history to say whether to buy now or wait. Recheck the current exact-model offer, seller and item condition.

Limitations

  • Neither toaster was tested side by side. Published controls and slot descriptions do not establish browning evenness, speed, taste, reliability or ease of use in practice.
  • Cuisinart publishes a 1.5-inch slot width; Breville describes its slots as extra-wide but does not state a numeric opening width. Check a specific food item against the actual toaster before purchase.
  • Both manuals describe separate controls for the two slot pairs. Cuisinart documents a Reheat button; its omission from the cited Breville feature list does not establish that Breville cannot reheat bread.
  • The exact comparable seller/condition and price history were not established, so current offers should be checked before purchase and no timing recommendation is made.

Questions shoppers ask

Can each side be set separately on both toasters?

Yes. The BTA840XL manual describes two browning slides and button sets for independently controlled slot pairs. Cuisinart’s linked CPT-142 series booklet says its two control panels set the left and right sides separately.

Which one can sit under a cabinet?

Cuisinart says not to operate the CPT-142BKP1 below a wall cabinet. Breville specifies 4 inches at the sides and 8 inches overhead and advises against enclosed placement. If the available overhead gap is less, do not assume the Breville body height alone makes that spot suitable.

Methodology and sources

Compared the documented four-slot layout, pair controls, carriage operation and available settings, then checked each manual for crumb care and operating placement. Feature descriptions do not establish measured toast performance.

Automated research assistance helped locate and organize the manufacturer pages and instruction books; the cited product features and instructions were checked in those sources. Neither toaster was hands-on tested.

View 4 sources
  1. 1.Die-Cast 4-Slice Smart ToasterBreville U.S. · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-21 08:31 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • BTA840 U.S. product page: 4 extra-wide slots, 4-slice capacity, automated lowering, A Bit More, Lift and Look, product specifications; exact BTA840XL identity confirmed in the linked U.S. manual.: Breville’s U.S. BTA840 product page describes a four-slot/four-slice toaster with extra-wide slots, one-touch lowering, A Bit More and Lift and Look; it lists removable crumb-tray cleaning and body dimensions. The separately cited U.S. manual confirms the BTA840XL variant and documents its exact controls.
  2. 2.the Diecast Smart Toaster Instruction BookBreville U.S. · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-21 08:31 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Cover identifies BTA840XL and states it suits BTA840XL; Know Your Breville Product (printed p. 8); Operating (printed pp. 10–11); Care & Cleaning and Storage (printed p. 15); Safety First (printed p. 4).: This U.S. booklet explicitly covers BTA840XL. It describes two browning-control slides and button sets for the two independently controlled pairs, motorized carriage movement, Lift & Look and A Bit More. It gives unplug/cool, crumb-tray, shake-out, wipe/dry and upright-storage steps, and specifies 4-inch side and 8-inch overhead operating clearance while advising against enclosed placement.
  3. 3.4 Slice Compact Plastic Toaster (Black)Cuisinart U.S. · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-21 08:31 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • Exact model CPT-142BKP1; product description; Features; Specifications; View Manuals link.: The U.S. product page identifies CPT-142BKP1 in black and describes four-slice capacity, two thick bagel halves plus two bread slices, dual controls with seven shade settings, 1.5-inch-wide slots, Reheat/Defrost/Bagel controls, a slide-out crumb tray and stated body dimensions. It links the CPT-142 series booklet used for operating/care instructions.
  4. 4.Compact 4-Slice Toaster CPT-142 Series Instruction BookletCuisinart · Official specifications · Source checked 2026-10-21 08:31 UTC
    Evidence used on this page
    • CPT-142 Series cover; Features and Benefits (printed p. 3); Use and Care (printed p. 4); Cleaning and Maintenance (printed p. 5); linked under View Manuals on the exact CPT-142BKP1 page.: The booklet is linked from Cuisinart’s exact CPT-142BKP1 page and covers the CPT-142 series. It describes dual control panels and manual side-specific carriage levers, seven shade levels, Reheat/Defrost/Bagel operation, 1.5-inch slots, unplug/cool and tray/exterior care, underside cord-storage cleats, and a prohibition on operation under wall cabinets or inside an appliance garage.